Q & A with Atlanta Falcons TE Reggie Kelly

Posted on November 2, 2011

0


By Jeremy Sickel

Q. What kind of life has a 13 year NFL career provided for you and your family?

A. A blessed life! To whom much is given, much is required. I know who the giver is and I praise God for everything. It is my duty to give back to the kingdom, provide for my family and give back to the community.

Q. How did it all go down with your return to the Atlanta Falcons after spending 8 seasons in Cincinnati with the Bengals?

A. Well I was a free agent yet again and I had the privilege to talk with various teams and after much prayer and talks with my wife, we felt it was in the best interest to sign back where I started. I am forever grateful to the Bengals, I had 8 wonderful seasons there, but now I have come full circle back to where I started.

Q. What is it like playing alongside Tony Gonzalez – no doubt, the best tight end in the history of the NFL?

A. Honored to play alongside Tony, who is no doubt a pro bowl TE. He is truly talented and fun to play with.

Q. You have probably seen all the stadiums, what is your favorite city to travel to for a road game?

A. Tampa Bay.

Q. At what point did you realize that you had what it took to make a career out of playing football?

A. Junior Year of college at Mississippi State University.

Q. What plans do you have after your playing days are over?

A. Continue to write more books, promote my food line KYVAN and work in the front office of an NFL franchise.

Q. What players did you admire as a young player yourself?

A. Walter Payton, Jerry Rice & Joe Montana

Q. How do you spend your off days?

A. Relaxing with my wife and kids.

Q. What’s been your secret to such a long career in the NFL and how much longer do you plan to play?

A. God has blessed me tremendously, eating the right foods, massages, and chiropractic work. I would love to get 14 years in total.

Q. What are best and worst moments from your NFL playing career?

A. Best—-beat Green Bay in the playoff game in 2003 – Worst—-None

For more on Reggie’s life as an NFL player, follow him on Twitter @reggiekelly82

Posted in: Interviews, NFL